17 March 2023 - By Annalise Tye

The weather has (finally) stopped forecasting snow, and as spring approaches, the members of WRC are emerging from winter hibernation, and are eager to brush off their black & gold vest tops and get back to racing… 

Your captains are here to present to you the Essex Road Relay 2023!

Tell me where and when

The Essex Road Relay Championships will take place on 16th April 2023 at the Northern Gateway Sports Park, Colchester. This year it is being hosted once again by Colchester Harriers.


Sounds fantastic, what else do I need to know?

For the first time this year, Essex AA have collaborated with Suffolk AA, bringing both counties together for a great day of racing! The event will also be chip timed.

Teams and timings are laid out as follows:


11:30am: Open, V40, V50, V60-3 runners per team 


1:15pm: V40, V50, V60-3 runners per team 

3:00pm: Open-4 runners per team 

All legs are approximately 5k in distance.

Please arrive at least 30 mins before your start time.

This event is open to all members, but you must represent WRC in black & gold.  To be eligible to win county medals, you must have an EA licence and be ‘Essex qualified’ (meaning that you were either born in Essex, or have been an Essex resident for at least 9 months).

It is possible to enter a team that are not Essex qualified or don’t hold EA licences, but they will not be eligible to win any medals on the day.  We will only do this if we have enough entrants to make up a team.

We have to register our teams by 2nd April, so please sign up below by 26th March to give us time to organise the teams. 

Club championship points are up for grabs, so get signing up!

We look forward to seeing you there.

Your Captain and Vice Captain,

Annalise & Jodee


Essex Road Relay Sign Up
    • Sarah Naughton – V40 Women
    • Giles Sowerby – V40 Men
    • Owen Dare – V60 Men
    • Lisa Leader – V40 Women
    • Kevin Harper – V60 Men
    • Celine Elson – V50 Women
    • Geoffrey Reddin – V60 Men
    • Nadia Mcleod – Open Women
    • Scott Darney – V40 Men
    • Dave Holdich – V40 Men
    • Chris martin – V40 Men
    • Andrew Read – V60 Men
    • Jamie Davidson – Open Men
    • Sian Tate – Open Women
    • Harry Solomon – Open Men
    • Glen Waller – V40 Men
    • Mark Austin – V60 Men


    Leave a reply