Speed Development – Thursday 17 November 2022

14 November 2022 - By Jodee Mayer

This week’s speed development I am calling walkback recovery reps. The session will take place at Eastways – please meet at 7.30pm at the usual spot (CM8 3YS) having completed a warm up jog before meeting, though we will ask you to run 400m round the loop before starting the warm up drills.

The session is simple – you will run around the “400m” loop, completing 1 lap and then starting a second lap until the corner where you turn left up the slope and then walk back to the start of the loop for your recovery before going again. The session will run continuously for 30 (or so) minutes. For those of you that want to programme the distance for your reps in advance, it is about 570m.

We will raise this again on the night, but when stopping your effort or approaching the end of your effort please be aware of runners around you so that we don’t have any collisions!

Pacing should be ideally a bit quicker than your 5k pace, with the aim is to run each rep in the same time.

If you want to programme paces into your watch, you can use a recent race or time trial time and use the McMillan pace calculator for guidance.

After the session, members who want to do a cool down jog home should please ensure that they undertake some cool down stretches afterwards. For those of you driving home, we will run cool down stretches after a cool down jog/walk.

Scott and I look forward to seeing you there.


Speed Development Session
    • Will
    • Celine Elson – Run
    • James Attenborough – Marshal
    • Daniel Griffiths – Run
    • Shane Ketteridge – Marshal
    • David Jobling – Marshal
    • Ann Johnson – Marshall
    • Lysia Jiggins – Run
    • Dean Whittaker – Marshal
    • Ian Cuthbert – Run
    • Mick Conroy Run
    • Max Leech – Run
    • Glen waller-run
    • Simon Scott marshal
    • Fiona Collins – Marshal
    • Steffan Doherty (Run)
    • Steven Alder – marshal
    • Heydon run and Marshall if required
    • Angela Read – Marshall
    • Alex Potter – Run
    • Patrick Hinchliffe – Marshal
    • Jamie Davidson – Marshall
    • Andy Lager run
    • Andrew Read – Run
    • Chris Martin – run

Leave a reply