Speed Development Session 12/5 New Rickstones Academy

10 May 2022 - By David Jobling

Everybody ready?

On Thursday our Speed Development Session will be on the grass track at New Rickstones Academy, Conrad Road, Witham.

It’s the first of 3 bookings we have there – 16 June & 7 July are the other dates.

Our access route to the track this week I’m told will take us through the school building itself so we’ll need to meet at the main entrance into to the school where Beth or I will meet you at 7.15pm for those looking to do some warm up laps of the track OR 7.30pm for those arriving warmed up – we’ll aim to kick off as soon after 7.30 pm as possible.

Parking is in the main car park we usually use.

As before at our track session, session details will not be posted in advance and instead will be a surprise for all athletes – this means they will be simple to follow (start/stop on whistle) and for those wishing to review stats and splits then best you manually lap your watch at the beginning and end of each repetition. The format has worked well for us on the track with a mixed group of runners.

We will be doing a mixture of repetitions with standing/walking recoveries, rough pacing guidance is as follows and we may (or may not?) cover some or all of these distances:

Up to 400m – roughly 5k pace
600m -800m – roughly 5M – 10k pace
1,000m -1,200m – roughly 10M – HM pace

After the session main part, please also do a cool down jog and post session stretching either with the group or independently if not staying.

For anyone who is unable to attend but would like to do a virtual version, please let me know either below or via FB and I can provide you with session details.

Beth and I look forward to meeting up with everyone on Thursday – please sign up below.

Speed Development Session
    • Will
    • Celine Elson – Run
    • James Attenborough – Marshal
    • Daniel Griffiths – Run
    • Shane Ketteridge – Marshal
    • David Jobling – Marshal
    • Ann Johnson – Marshall
    • Lysia Jiggins – Run
    • Dean Whittaker – Marshal
    • Ian Cuthbert – Run
    • Mick Conroy Run
    • Max Leech – Run
    • Glen waller-run
    • Simon Scott marshal
    • Fiona Collins – Marshal
    • Steffan Doherty (Run)
    • Steven Alder – marshal
    • Heydon run and Marshall if required
    • Angela Read – Marshall
    • Alex Potter – Run
    • Patrick Hinchliffe – Marshal
    • Jamie Davidson – Marshall
    • Andy Lager run
    • Andrew Read – Run
    • Chris Martin – run


Leave a reply