17 October 2022 - By James Montgomery


Please join myself and Kerry for an oldie!

  • What : Speed Development – Kenyan Hills
  • Where : On the green at the bottom of the Spa Road / Highfields Road junction (What Three Words: ///loaded.unguarded.departure)
  • When : 7:30pm meet

This week we will put you through the famous Kenyan Hills session!

Please meet at 7.30pm, having done a warm up jog, at the junction of Spa Road/Highfields Road/Asda where we’ll do a few dynamic stretches and warm up drills before kicking off the main part of the session which will last around 30 minutes.

The goal of the session is to run uphill efforts followed immediately by the same distance section downhill at the same pace & time. So if it takes you 2 mins to run up, it should take you 2 mins to run down – simple!

Pace guidance is roughly tempo pace.  This should feel tough on the way up, but a little easier on the way down (acting as your recovery).

You will run the uphill effort all the way up Spa Road to where it flattens out at the overpass where you will turn back for the downhill recovery and then go again.

1 rep will be up and down and we will run 2 consecutive reps at a time, following by 2 minutes rest, which will look something like this:

  • Up
  • Down
  • Up
  • Down
  • 2 mins rest

Repeat until 30 minutes is up!

This is not really one to pre-program but is fine for manually using the lap button between reps and reviewing afterwards.

Please be mindful of other footpath users and do please keep to the left when running to avoid oncoming runners.

Kerry and I look forward to meeting up with everyone on Thursday.

Please sign up below.

Speed Development Session
    • Will
    • Celine Elson – Run
    • James Attenborough – Marshal
    • Daniel Griffiths – Run
    • Shane Ketteridge – Marshal
    • David Jobling – Marshal
    • Ann Johnson – Marshall
    • Lysia Jiggins – Run
    • Dean Whittaker – Marshal
    • Ian Cuthbert – Run
    • Mick Conroy Run
    • Max Leech – Run
    • Glen waller-run
    • Simon Scott marshal
    • Fiona Collins – Marshal
    • Steffan Doherty (Run)
    • Steven Alder – marshal
    • Heydon run and Marshall if required
    • Angela Read – Marshall
    • Alex Potter – Run
    • Patrick Hinchliffe – Marshal
    • Jamie Davidson – Marshall
    • Andy Lager run
    • Andrew Read – Run
    • Chris Martin – run

Leave a reply