JR Summer 5K Handicap Results

13 July 2017 - By Tony Wallen

Well done to everyone who ran tonight in the finale of the John Roberts 5k series.

With the publicity machine in full swing before the event, we had a huge field of 44 runners and it looked like the bookies would be paying out on all the pre-race favourites.  When the dust had settled, we had 2 new course records, 5 under 18 minutes and Finso made it to the start line.  The only bet that didn’t pay out focused on the length of Heydon’s shorts!  James Crisp bagged himself a new Club Record and there were numerous other pb’s.

The handicap race was won by Paul Thomas and Rachel Sweatt.  The series winner is decided on a combination of race position and improvement over the series.  In a bit of a family affair, Pete and Vicky Riley both scooped the top award with Dave and Vicky Hunt both finishing second.  Chris Martin rounded out the podium for the men and there was a three way tie for the ladies with Carina Taylor, Rachel Sweatt and Tanya Nash all sharing third place.

Thanks to Annie for videoing the finish; Tracey & Liz for sign-on and, with Kerry, for  timekeeping; Theresa, Martina Giles, Mat, Callum, Martyn and Simon for marshalling duties; DJ for course set up; Steve for the photos and Marc for providing the magic spreadsheet that allowed the results to be calculated so efficiently.  Apologies if I’ve missed anyone.

Jamie Thrupp 00:21:11
Rachel Sweatt 00:19:23
Hayley Ellen 00:22:10
Vicky Riley 00:22:24
Brigid Wallen 00:22:32
Michelle English 00:22:35
Becca Booty 00:22:51
Tanya Nash 00:23:21
Carina Taylor 00:23:47
Dawn Shilling 00:25:09
Anita Grainger 00:26:22
Sylvie Bullen-Bell 00:27:10
Karen Flowers 00:27:17
Penny Clarke 00:30:26
Jo Smythe 00:32:59
Caitlin Overton 00:36:32
Mark Finbow 00:16:58
James Crisp 00:17:32
David Hunt 00:17:39
Heydon Mizon 00:17:54
Chris Martin 00:17:55
Scott Darney 00:18:22
Pete Riley 00:18:41
Andrew Lager 00:18:57
Chris Snook 00:19:10
Owen Dare 00:19:53
Paul English 00:19:58
Mark Austin 00:20:00
Paul Thomas 00:20:37
Kevin Harper 00:20:50
Mark Lynch 00:21:02
Andy Turner 00:21:11
Lee Pembroke 00:21:16
Andy Notley 00:21:18
Bill Smythe 00:21:42
James Montgomery 00:23:01
Lee Blake 00:23:34
Danny Connor 00:23:40
Dave Jobling 00:23:54
Anthony Smith 00:23:58
Adam Hocken 00:25:23
Dave Grainger 00:26:01
John Le Seve 00:26:20
Paul Hedger 00:28:30


Leave a reply